University Of Mines And Technology (Faculties, Departments And Courses Offered)


The University Of Mines And Technology is a public university located in the Western part of the country.

The university was institutionalized in November 2004. It started operating as the Tarkwa Technical Institute in the year 1952.

Read Also:Legon Courses And Grades(Cut-off Points)

Nine years later, the university was changed to Tarkwa School of Mines with the objective of training labor for the mining industry in Ghana.

READ ALSO:  Ghana SHS P0rñ: Recent Photos, Videos, Schools Involved, Trending Sites

In 1976, the university became a faculty of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST).

Read Also:Courses Offered At KNUST

The university was elevated to the university college level and referred to as the Western University College of KNUST.

The institution became a full fledged university in 2004. 4 years later, the first batch of the university graduated in Tarkwa without joining the KNUST graduate batch.

READ ALSO:  NSMQ 2021: Aquinas Beats Wesley Grammar, Ada SHS To Proceed To The Next Stage Of The Competition

Read Also:Kintampo College Of Health [Courses Offered And Entry Requirements-2021/2022]

In 2018, the name of the institution was changed to the George Paa Grant.

Below is a list of faculties and departments operating in the institution.

Read Also:Courses Offered In Accra Technical University 2021

Faculty Of Mineral Resources Technology

  • Department Of Geological Engineering
  • Department Of Geomatic Engineering
  • Department Of Mineral Engineering
  • Department Of Mining Engineering
  • Department Of Petroleum Engineering
  • Department Of Environmental And Safety Engineering
READ ALSO:  General Arts Courses In SHS

Read Also:General Nursing Courses In Ghana

Faculty Of Integrated Management Science

  • Department Of Technical Communication
  • Department Of Management Studies

Read Also:Ernest Chemist Branches In Ghana

School Of Postgraduate Studies

  • Postgraduate Diploma (PgD)
  • Master Of Science (Msc)
  • Master Of Philosophy(Mphil)
  • Doctor of Philosophy(PhD)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here